Mason Mount Contends Fikayo Tomori Should NOT Have Seen Red vs Chelsea. Mason Mount has maintained that Fikayo Tomori, an old friend from Chelsea, SHOULD NOT have been dismissed in a Champions League match against his team.
The Milan defender Tomori was handed his marching orders by the referee for holding back Mount as he broke through on goal and into the penalty area.
Despite the fact that there was just slight contact between the two players, the referee dismissed Tomori and gave The Blues a penalty, much to Milan’s displeasure, for blocking a clear chance to score. Amazingly, 23-year-old Mount argued that the decision to send him off was the wrong one.
He told Chelsea’s website: “He’s obviously my mate, I’ve known Fik for a very long time and I felt for him in that situation, I was gutted for him. I don’t think it was a sending-off.
“Was it a penalty? Maybe yes. I’m an honest player and I want to try to score a goal and he pulled me back a little bit, but I feel for him for that decision. It’s a tough one.
“I felt him trying to pull me back, but I was running to goal so I wasn’t going to go down and I felt like I could still have an opportunity to score.
“So I carried on going, didn’t score and then obviously the ref blew up and gave a pen straight away. I was probably a bit surprised at the time because I’ve still gone through and had a shot.”
Jorginho converted the penalty, and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang added a definitive second to give Graham Potter his fourth win in a row. As a result, Chelsea has risen to the top of their Champions League group, just seven days after being at the bottom.