PFA Team
Spread the love

Manchester City has been crowned the Professional Footballers’ Association’s Team of the Year.  It is no surprise that they have dominated the competition. Pep Guardiola’s team consists of six players, although none of their attackers made the final eleven of the PFA Team of the Year.

Manchester City won their third league title in four years, finishing twelve points clear of Manchester United in second place. Incredibly, the Sky Blues only conceded 32 goals in 38 Premier League games, and that effort is represented in the PFA Team of the Year backline.

Between the pipes, Ederson is named after keeping 19 clean sheets to earn the Golden Glove in the 2020-21 season.

Manchester is where the back four is forged. The Football Writers’ Player of the Year, Ruben Dias, keeps his rock-solid partnership with John Stones in the heart of the backline, while Joao Cancelo is named to the right-back position. Luke Shaw is one of two Manchester United players who have made the team.

The Englishman’s consistent improvement this season under Ole Gunnar Solskjaer’s supervision has not gone unnoticed. Shaw is without a doubt one of Europe’s best left-backs at the moment, and his form has earned him a spot in the PFA Team of the Year.

The Midfield Powerhouse

The midfield has major firepower as well and is once again made up exclusively of Manchester-based players. Manchester United’s Bruno Fernandes, all of whom have had outstanding seasons, join Kevin de Bruyne and Ilkay Gundogan. De Bruyne concluded the season with six goals and twelve assists in 25 league games, while Gundogan scored 13 times.

Bruno Fernandes, on the other hand, has been a revelation since joining United, scoring 28 goals and assisting 18 times across all competitions in his first full season in the Premier League.

PFA Team Strikers

However, there are no Manchester City or Manchester United players on the PFA Team of the Year’s frontline. Liverpool’s only representative is Mohamed Salah, down from five last year. Despite the poor title defence, Egypt scored 22 goals in the league.

Harry Kane, who earned the Golden Boot as well as the playmaker award for the 2020-21 season, spearheads the attack. To complete a devastating front three, he is joined by his Tottenham Hotspur teammate Son Hueng Min.

By Clive Banda

Football Dialogue is the Home to Football News & Content that is both instructive and timeless.

5 thoughts on “PFA Team of the Year: Manchester City Dominate the Line-Up”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *